Hurricane Bay

Six Flags St. Louis, originally Six Flags Over Mid-America, is a theme park located in Eureka, Missouri. The park opened on June 5, 1971, and features eight themed areas as well as numerous attractions and entertainment. The adjacent Hurricane Harbor water park is free with park admission. Six Flags St. Louis was the last of the three original theme parks envisioned by founder Angus Wynne. The other two are Six Flags Over Texas in Arlington, Texas (1961) and Six Flags Over Georgia in Austell, Georgia (1967). The three parks are also the last to be built from the ground up for Six Flags. Also, unlike the parks in Texas and Georgia, it is not owned by a limited partnership but fully owned and operated by Six Flags. Since its opening, Six Flags St. Louis has undergone many changes, most notably the replacement of three of the park's six original areas, as well as two additional ones, Gateway to the West (1993) and Bugs Bunny National Park (2006). Gateway to the West and 1904 World's Fair occupy land formerly used by the Missouri section of the park, which was split up into the two areas in 1993. Studio Backlot replaced U.S.A. in 1995, and DC Comics Plaza replaced Spain in 1996. England and Old Chicago, the two remaining original opening day areas, still operate today as Britannia and Illinois, respectively.